Sound Opinions

Sound Opinions

Take two nationally respected rock critics, the latest music news, personal commentary, and exclusive interviews and performances, add a huge pile of records old and new, and the result is Sound Opinions, where people who love music can come together. read less

Kranky Records, Opinions on Iggy Pop & Ladytron
4d ago
Kranky Records, Opinions on Iggy Pop & Ladytron
This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot explore the history of the Chicago indie label Kranky Records, which has been home over the years to artists like Low, Deerhunter and Godspeed You! Black Emperor. They talk with Kranky co-founder and author of the book “You’re with Stupid,” Bruce Adams, about its creation, ethos and more. The hosts also review new music from Iggy Pop and Ladytron. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Stars of the Lid, "Goodnight," Music for Nitrous Oxide, Kranky, 1995Iggy Pop, "Frenzy," Every Loser, GOLDTOOTH INC, 2023Iggy Pop, "Strung Out Johnny," Every Loser, GOLDTOOTH INC, 2023Iggy Pop, "New Atlantis," Every Loser, GOLDTOOTH INC, 2023Iggy Pop, "The News For Andy (Interlude)," Every Loser, GOLDTOOTH INC, 2023Ladytron, "Time's Arrow," Time's Arrow, Cooking Vinyl, 2023Ladytron, "City of Angels," Time's Arrow, Cooking Vinyl, 2023Ladytron, "The Dreamers," Time's Arrow, Cooking Vinyl, 2023Ladytron, "Misery Remember Me," Time's Arrow, Cooking Vinyl, 2023Godspeed You! Black Emperor, "Storm," Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven, Kranky, 2000Labradford, "S," Mi Media Naranja, Kranky, 1997John Barry, "Somewhere In Time (Main Theme)," Somewhere In Time (Soundtrack from the Motion Picture), Geffen, 1980Jessamine, "...Or What You Mean," The Long Arm of Coincidence, Kranky, 1996Low, "Sunflower," Things We Lost In the Fire, Kranky, 2001Labradford, "David," fixed::context, Kranky, 2000Godspeed You! Black Emperor, "The Dead Flag Blues," F♯ A♯ ∞, Kranky, 1997LadyBlu, "Sweet Anxiety," Sweet Anxiety (Single), 4246244, 2022
Songs About Photography, Marty Perez & RIP David Crosby
27-01-2023
Songs About Photography, Marty Perez & RIP David Crosby
Jim and Greg talk with longtime music photographer Marty Perez about his new career-spanning book, "Kill A Punk For Rock & Roll." They also share their favorite songs about photography and pay tribute to David Crosby.Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsFeatured SongsThe Kinks, "People Take Pictures of Each Other," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968The Beatles, "With A Little Help From My Friends," Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Capitol, 1967Crosby, Stills and Nash, "Long Time Gone," Crosby, Stills and Nash, Atlantic, 1969David Crosby, "Cowboy Movie," If I Could Only Remember My Name, Atlantic, 1971Spoon, "I Turn My Camera On," Gimme Fiction, Matador, 2005Yes, "Into the Lens," Drama, Atlantic, 1980Pink, "Family Portrait," Missundaztood, Arista, 2001Ringo Starr, "Photograph," Ringo, Apple, 1973Kevin Morby, "This Is A Photograph," This Is A Photograph, Dead Oceans, 2022Patti Smith, "Gloria," Horses, Arista, 1975The Kinks, "Picture Book," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968Duran Duran, "Girls On Film," Duran Duran, EMI, 1981Ice Cube, "Who Got the Camera," The Predator, Priority, 1992Outkast, "Hey Ya!," Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, Arista, 2003Mission of Burma, "This Is Not a Photograph," Signals, Calls and Marches, Ace of Hearts, 1980The Cure, "Pictures of You," Disintegration, Fiction, 1989Labradford, "S," Mi Media Naranja, Kranky, 1998
Dry Cleaning, Reviews of Margo Price and SZA, and RIP Jeff Beck
20-01-2023
Dry Cleaning, Reviews of Margo Price and SZA, and RIP Jeff Beck
Post-punk tunes topped with dadaist deadpan lyrics are an unlikely formula for popularity in music, but that's the secret to Dry Cleaning's success. Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot talk with band members Florence Shaw and Nick Buxton about one of their favorite albums of 2022. They also review new albums by SZA and Margo Price and pay tribute to Jeff Beck.Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundopsFeatured SongsDry Cleaning, "Don't Press Me," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022SZA, "Shirt," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Nobody Gets Me," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Kill Bill," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022SZA, "Gone Girl," SOS, Top Dawg, 2022Margo Price, "Been To The Mountain," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Radio," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Time Machine," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Lydia," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Margo Price, "Change of Heart," Strays, Loma Vista, 2023Dry Cleaning, "Magic of Meghan," Sweet Princess, It's OK, 2019Dry Cleaning, "Scratchcard Lanyard," New Long Leg, 4AD, 2021Dry Cleaning, "Unsmart Lady," New Long Leg, 4AD, 2021Dry Cleaning, "Anna Calls From The Artic," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022Dry Cleaning, "No Decent Shoes For Rain," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022The Yardbirds, "Shapes of Things," (Single), Epic, 1966Jeff Beck, "Beck's Bolero," Truth, Epic, 1968The Kinks, "People Take Pictures of Each Other," The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, Pye, 1968
The Best Songs of 2022, Obits & Greg's Annual Mixtape
06-01-2023
The Best Songs of 2022, Obits & Greg's Annual Mixtape
This week, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot look at the music of 2022 from the rearview mirror. Jim and the producers share some of their favorite singles of the year, review some missed obituaries and Greg plays an excerpt from his legendary annual mixtape. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Bad Bunny, "Moscow Mule," Un Verano Sin Ti, RIMAS ENTERTAINMENT, 2022Irene Cara, "Flashdance...What a Feeling," Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture, Casablanca, 1983Irene Cara, "Fame," Fame: The Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture, RSO, 1980The Clean, "Anything Could Happen," Compilation, Flying Nun, 1986Hawkwind, "Master of the Universe," In Search of Space, United Artists, 1971Public Image Ltd, "Public Image," Public Image: First Issue, Virgin, 1978Robyn Hitchcock, "The Man Who Loves the Rain," Shufflemania!, Tiny Ghost, 2022Ateez, "Guerilla," The World EP.1 : Movement, KQ Entertainment, 2022Lil Nas X, "That's What I Want," Montero, Columbia, 2021Glass Animals, "Heat Waves," Dreamland, Wolf Tone, 2020Superchunk, "If You're Not Dark," Wild Loneliness, Merge, 2022GAYLE, "abc (nicer)," abc (nicer) (Single), Atlantic, 2021Nicki Minaj, "Super Freaky Girl," Super Freaky Girl (Single), Young Money, 2022Taylor Swift, "Would've, Could've, Should've," Midnights (3am Edition), Republic, 2022Dummy, "Mono Retriever," Mono Retriever (Single), Sub Pop, 2022PLOSIVS, "Hit the Breaks," Hit the Breaks (Single), Swami, 2021Bodega, "Statuette on the Console," Broken Equipment, What's Your Rupture?, 2022Thee Oh Sees, "A Foul Form," A Foul Form, Castle Face, 2022Anna Calvi, "Ain't No Grave," Tommy - EP, Domino, 2022Brittany Davis, "I Choose to Live," I Choose to Live - EP, Loosegrove, 2022Say Sue Me, "To Dream," The Last Thing Left, Damnably & Beach Town Music, 2022Yola, "Strange Things Are Happening Every Day," ELVIS (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), RCA, 2022Stillwater, "Fever Dog," Almost Famous, DreamWorks, 2000
D'Angelo's Voodoo & Bassist Pino Palladino
23-12-2022
D'Angelo's Voodoo & Bassist Pino Palladino
This week, Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot dissect D’Angelo’s masterpiece album Voodoo. They chat with author Faith Pennick about the record’s context, impact and more. Then, the hosts will talk with the bassist who played on that album, among many others, Pino Palladino. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:D'Angelo, "One Mo'gin," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Playa Playa," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Chicken Grease," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Brown Sugar," Brown Sugar, EMI, 1995D'Angelo, "Devil's Pie," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Untitled (How Does It Feel)," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Africa," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "The Root," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Just Wrong," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Off The Cuff," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Paul Young, "Come Back and Stay (Extended Version)," No Parlez, Columbia, 1983D'Angelo, "Send It On," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000D'Angelo, "Feel Like Makin' Love," Voodoo, Virgin, 2000The Who, "Baba O'Riley (Live at the Hollywood Bowl 2002)," Who's Next, Decca, 1971The Who, "My Generation," My Generation, Brunswick, 1965Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Soundwalk," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021Pino Palladino & Blake Mills, "Ekuté," Notes With Attachments, Verve, 2021D'Angelo, Femi Kuti, Macy Gray, and the Soultronics, "Water No Get Enemy (feat. Nile Rodgers and Roy Hargrove)," Red Hot + Riot: The Music and Spirit of Fela Kuti, MCA, 2003John Mayer Trio, "Who Did You Think I Was (Live at the House of Blues, Chicago, Illinois, September 22, 2005)," Try! Live in Concert, Columbia, 2005Low, "Long Way Around the Sea," Christmas, Kranky, 1999
The 2022 Holiday Spectacular with Andy Cirzan
16-12-2022
The 2022 Holiday Spectacular with Andy Cirzan
Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome our crate-digging Kris Kringle, Andy Cirzan to share great holiday songs that aren’t played-out. This year's collection is called "The Reindeer Sessions... Further Adventures in Holiday Obscura." Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Lenny Dee, "Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer," Happy Holi-Dee, Decca, 1961Andy Claus, Santa's Singing Cousin, "Andy's Reindeer Song," (Single), Snowflake, unknownAnn Bennett, "Another Christmas Rolls Around Again," (Single), Bertlen, unknownTommy Hester, "Daddy's Drinking Up Our Christmas," (Single), Luck, unknownLeonard Feather and Friends, "Comet (the Reindeer)," Winter Sequence, MGM, 1954Lenny Dee, "Sleigh Ride," Happy Holi-Dee, Decca, 1961Cristy Lane, "Jesus Is A Soul Man," (Single), Extremely Brave, 1971Jimmie Dale, "There Are Reindeer Running (Down The Christmas Trail)," (Single), Original, 1953Modern Jazz Quartet, "Variation No. 1 On "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen"," The Modern Jazz Quartet At Music Inn, Atlantic, 1956Unknown, "Santa Claus Is Coming To Town," unknown, unknown, unknownMartin Newell (w/ Andy Partridge), "Christmas In Suburbia," The Greatest Living Englishman, Pipeline, 1993Tom Waits, "New Years Eve," Bad As Me, Anti-, 2011Prince, "Another Lonely Christmas," (Single), Warner Bros, 1984Old Musicbox Melodies, "Auld Lang Syne," (Single), unknown, unknown
The Best Albums of 2022, Plus RIP Christine McVie
09-12-2022
The Best Albums of 2022, Plus RIP Christine McVie
As 2022 comes to a close, hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot reveal their Best Albums of the Year, music they loved and couldn’t stop listening to. They also hear selections from their production staff and pay tribute to the late, great Christine McVie of Fleetwood Mac. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:MUNA, "Anything But Me," MUNA, Saddest Factory, 2022Fleetwood Mac, "Everywhere," Tango in the Night, Warner, 1987Chicken Shack, "I'd Rather Go Blind," I'd Rather Go Blind (Single), Blue Horizon, 1969Fleetwood Mac, "Homeward Bound," Bare Trees, Reprise, 1972Katie Kim, "Eraser," Hour of the Ox, Katie Kim, 2022Santigold, "Fall First," Spirituals, Little Jerk, 2022Lizzo, "2 Be Loved (Am I Ready)," Special, Nice Life, Atlantic, 2022Pinkshift, "i'm not crying you're crying," Love Me Forever, Hopeless, 2022Viagra Boys, "Punk Rock Loser," Cave World, Year0001, 2022Trupa Trupa, "Uniforms," B Flat A, Lovitt, 2022MUNA, "Kind of Girl," MUNA, Saddest Factory, 2022Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul, "Thank You," Topical Dancer, Deewee, 2022Julia Jacklin, "Lydia Wears A Cross," Pre-Pleasure, Polyvinyl, 2022The Linda Lindas, "Nino," Growing Up, Epitath, 2022Danger Mouse & Black Thought, "Belize (feat. MF DOOM)," Cheat Codes, BMG, 2022Wet Leg, "UR Mum," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022Sharon Van Etten, "I'll Try," We've Been Going About This All Wrong, Jagjaguwar, 2022Dry Cleaning, "Stumpwork," Stumpwork, 4AD, 2022Nnamdi, "Dedication," Please Have A Seat, Secretly Canadian, 2022
Margo Price, Plus Opinions on Robyn Hitchcock & Plains
02-12-2022
Margo Price, Plus Opinions on Robyn Hitchcock & Plains
Hosts Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot welcome Margo Price back to the show to discuss her memoir, "Maybe We'll Make It." Since her first appearance in 2018, Price has recorded two albums, joined the board of Farm Aid and met almost all of her heroes. Plus, Jim and Greg review the new albums from Robyn Hitchcock and Plains, a new group from Waxahatchee and Jess Williamson. Join our Facebook Group: https://bit.ly/3sivr9TBecome a member on Patreon: https://bit.ly/3slWZvcSign up for our newsletter: https://bit.ly/3eEvRnGMake a donation via PayPal: https://bit.ly/3dmt9lUSend us a Voice Memo: Desktop: bit.ly/2RyD5Ah  Mobile: sayhi.chat/soundops Featured Songs:Margo Price, "Change of Heart," Change of Heart (Single), Loma Vista, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Shuffle Man," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Man Who Loves the Rain," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "The Sir Tommy Shovell," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Robyn Hitchcock, "Noirer Than Noir," Shufflemania, Tiny Ghost, 2022Plains, "Abilene," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Summer Sun," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Bellafatima," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Plains, "Hurricane," I Walked With You A Ways, Anti-, 2022Margo Price, "This Town Gets Around," Midwest Farmer's Daughter, Third Man, 2016Buffalo Clover, "Hey Child," Test Your Love, Self-Released, 2013Margo Price, "Weekender (Funk Version, Live at The Ryman, 2018)," Perfectly Imperfect at The Ryman, Loma Vista, 2020Loretta Lynn, "One's On The Way (feat. Margo Price)," Still Woman Enough, Sony Music, 2021Margo Price, "Hands of Time," Midwest Farmer's Daughter, Third Man, 2016Margo Price, "All American Made," All American Made, Third Man, 2017Margo Price, "Since You Put Me Down (Live on SNL)," (unreleased), N/A, 2016Margo Price, "Been To The Mountain," Been To The Mountain (Single), Loma Vista, 2022Wet Leg, "Chaise Longue," Wet Leg, Domino, 2022