Watch Out! Horror Movie Reviews

Jason the Terrible

Jason the Terrible, Graverobber Geoff and Slicin’ Dicin’ Dave provide you with spoiler-free reviews and recommendations for both recent fright films and horror classics. read less
TV & FilmTV & Film

Episodes

053: Black Friday (2021) and the Great Watch Out Name Search
Sep 19 2023
053: Black Friday (2021) and the Great Watch Out Name Search
There aren't many holidays left that don't have a horror movie attached to them, and now there's one less! Bruce Campbell and Devon Sawa star in 2021's Black Friday! Trapped in a toy store surrounded by monstrous zombies sounds like a typical Black Friday to us, but will the movie version have us busting down the doors at 6am to watch it again? In our mini-reviews, we use our Watch Out Horror monikers to search through various streaming services until we find something somewhat related. Yes, that means Jason has his pick of Terrible movies, Dave found Slicin' and Dicin' to be a challenge, and Geoff found an exact graverobbing match! Backwoods Daryl Hannah and Joe Pantoliano! Accidental satanic resurrections! Violent vixens and angry embryos! This episode really does have it all... But wait, there's more! You'll also get a new car! (no you won't) Our Top 5 list revisits our favourite game shows from our golden era. So join us after the credits for that! (0:12:36) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Screamsack of Nightmares - THREE SLICES OF LIFE (2010) (0:22:01) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - GRAVE ROBBERS (1989) (0:32:51) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE FINAL TERROR (1983) (0:40:43) Feature Review - BLACK FRIDAY (2021) (1:16:45) TOP 5 LIST - Favourite Game Shows! We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ All our links at ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Email us at ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
052: Terrifier, Terrifier 2, and The Black Phone
Jul 25 2023
052: Terrifier, Terrifier 2, and The Black Phone
While it's still too early to call this a franchise review, we decided to give Damien Leone's Terrifier two-some the full feature review treatment. That's right! For this episode we dropped our individual rating segments to focus on Art the Clown's Halloween hi-jinks and all the sadistic glee that entails. Art would enthusiastically rate his films 10/10 on the Hilarity Meter, but we suspect that setting an all-time high on the Gore-Meter might be more realistic. And just because it's been a while, we're throwing in a deal: check out this episode at no cost to you, and you'll receive a Black Phone absolutely free!* That's right, Ethan Hawke wants to reach out and grab ya! So who you gonna call? Wow, this description is writing itself at this point... *You will not receive an actual Black Phone for free. (0:06:20) Feature Review #1 - THE BLACK PHONE (2021) (0:26:51) Feature Review #2 - TERRIFIER (2016) (0:55:29) Feature Review #3 - TERRIFIER 2 (2022) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ All our links at ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Email us at ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠⁠⁠⁠⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
051: The Sadness (2021) and Our Top 5 Stephen King Movies
Jun 6 2023
051: The Sadness (2021) and Our Top 5 Stephen King Movies
Is The Sadness the most extreme zombie movie ever made? Is there a deeper meaning beneath the entrails and blood orgies? What's really making them cry? This is a movie that is not for everyone - it may not even be for most horror fans! But this podcast is! So throw away your morality center and join us in the streets of Taiwan as we all experience Rob Jabbaz's touching gorefest! In our Top 5 List, we recount our favorite Stephen King related movies! And it turns out that our lists are not simply the universally accepted King classics (though a couple of them do end up shining through the mist). Join our creepshow of misery and see if our picks match yours! And finally, in our mini-reviews, Graverobber Geoff recommended that we should cover movies that were recommended to us! Jason joins a shady paranormal investigator's racket, Dave sees something very unexpected at the end of a tunnel, and Geoff finally finds out what certain folks have been up to in the shadows! Welcome to Episode 51! (0:07:07) Top 5 List - STEPHEN KING Movies (0:38:53) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE FRIGHTENERS (1996) (0:47:53) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - MEN (2022) (0:56:13) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS (2014) (1:05:04) Feature Review - THE SADNESS (2021) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠⁠⁠⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠⁠⁠⁠ All our links at ⁠⁠⁠⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠⁠⁠⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠⁠⁠⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠⁠⁠⁠ Email us at ⁠⁠⁠⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠⁠⁠⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠⁠⁠⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠⁠⁠⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
050: The Company of Wolves (1984) and Our Top 5 Movies from our First 50 Episodes!
May 16 2023
050: The Company of Wolves (1984) and Our Top 5 Movies from our First 50 Episodes!
Here it is: our 50th episode! And to celebrate, Graverobber Geoff selected The Company of Wolves for our feature review! What does that have to do with the number 50? Well, surprisingly enough, there is a connection. It even surprised Graverobber Geoff! But before we follow Sarah Patterson down the gothic path to granny's house (did we mention Angela Lansbury is granny?), we spent some time reminiscing on our first 50 episodes. In our Top 5 List, we remember the five movies we're most glad we watched because of this podcast. Did Tammy and the T-Rex make the cut? How about Eat? The Autopsy of Jane Doe, anyone? Or The Dark and The Wicked? We've covered some dark and wicked movies, as well as some splat-stick gore-medies, and we've loved (almost) every minute of it! In our mini-reviews, Slicin' Dicin' Dave has us looking at movies from the 1950's! See what we did there? Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon is infested with Giant LEECHES! Graverobber Geoff digs up THEM! And Dave gets his ass buzzed in a theatre full of TINGLERS! These movies have been around a lot longer than we have, and 50 episodes is nothing compared to 73 years, but we love that we have the chance to talk about them! So join us as we celebrate 50 episodes of Watch Out! Horror Movie Reviews! (0:06:05) Top 5 List - MOVIES WE'RE GLAD WE WATCHED BECAUSE OF THIS PODCAST (0:41:26) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - THEM! (1954) (0:50:10) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - ATTACK OF THE GIANT LEECHES (1959) (0:56:11) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - THE TINGLER (1959) (1:01:46) Feature Review - THE COMPANY OF WOLVES (1984) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠⁠⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠⁠⁠ All our links at ⁠⁠⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠⁠⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠⁠⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠⁠⁠ Email us at ⁠⁠⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠⁠⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠⁠⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠⁠⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
049: Skinamarink (2022) and Scientific Horror
Apr 25 2023
049: Skinamarink (2022) and Scientific Horror
Skinamarink! Just the sound of the word can cause you to wake in terror and stare at your walls for hours and hours. And that's just the Sharon, Lois and Bram song! Made for $15,000 in the hinterland of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, and starring an Oilers jersey and a few people that you never see, Skinamarink is an experimental film that tries to immerse you in the dark so that it can recall your middle-of-the-night childhood nightmares. We made it through, but is this movie good for you? Tune in to find out. But first, in our mini review segments we put on our lab coats and hypothesize some Scientific Horror! Jason reuses the sets from his previous segments to review Roger Corman's Forbidden World, Dave gets a job as a Lawnmower Man, and Geoff steals the show by picking some Thing! Monkeys, mutating aliens, 90's CGI and naked spa breaks await you! And finally, after the credits, we reveal our Top 5 Corner Store Candies! (0:05:23) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - THE LAWNMOWER MAN (1992) (0:15:45) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - THE THING (1982) (0:24:11) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - FORBIDDEN WORLD (1982) (0:33:35) Feature Review - SKINAMARINK (2022) (1:10:49) Top 5 List - CORNER STORE CANDIES We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠⁠ All our links at ⁠⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠⁠ Email us at ⁠⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
048: Possession (1981) and Recently Released Horror!
Apr 4 2023
048: Possession (1981) and Recently Released Horror!
Isabelle Adjani and Sam Neill absolutely amaze in this obliquely irrational and notoriously genre-bending mindwarp of a movie. Possession is hard to follow but impossible to forget! For our mini review theme we pick movies that have come out in the previous 12 months. Dave spends a memorable night at the theater watching Winnie the Poo, Geoff can't help but Smile, and Jason tries to stay Fresh! Twisted childhood memories, twisted dating, and twisted facial features makes for twisted entertainment. And finally, after the credits, we reveal our Top 5 Movies that we're ashamed we haven't seen yet! (0:09:05) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - FRESH (2022) (0:16:25) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - WINNIE THE POOH: BLOOD AND HONEY (2023) (0:29:48) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - SMILE (2022) (0:43:23) Feature Review - POSSESSION (1981) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! ⁠www.watchouthorror.com⁠ All our links at ⁠https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror⁠ Listen to us on GoodPods!  ⁠https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb⁠ Email us at ⁠watchouthorror@gmail.com⁠ Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: ⁠https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/⁠ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
045: Anything For Jackson (2020) and Horror Directed by Women
Feb 14 2023
045: Anything For Jackson (2020) and Horror Directed by Women
We've waited a while to talk about Justin G. Dyck's film, Anything For Jackson!  Now that it's finally on Canadian Shudder, we ask the question, "Is kidnapping a pregnant woman so that you can reverse-exorcize the soul of your dead grandson into her unborn baby really that evil?"  The answer may surprise you!  Except that yes it is.  Sheila McCarthy and Julian Richings portray the elder satanists to twisted perfection in this unique and oddball spookfest that shows exactly what would happen if your grandparents tried to pull off a deal with the devil. For our mini review theme we shine the spotlight on horror movies directed by women!  Geoff walks home alone, and finds himself in Iran!  At night!  Jason extends us all an invitation to his dungeon - I mean, dinner party.  And boy is it awkward!  And Dave gets stuck trying to explain what a gloryhole is, all while saving mankind!  And boy is it awkward!  Three crazy and inspired films by three powerful directors! (0:05:50) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT (2014) (0:14:58) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE INVITATION (2015) (0:24:18) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - GLORIOUS (2022) (0:33:14) Feature Review - ANYTHING FOR JACKSON (2020) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ 2023 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
044: Near Dark (1987) and Movies for Horror Newbies
Jan 31 2023
044: Near Dark (1987) and Movies for Horror Newbies
In this episode we join Bill Paxton's posse of vagabond vampires in the gritty horror western Near Dark, directed by Kathryn Bigelow and also starring Lance Henriksen and Adrian Pasdar.  Suggested by Mr. K, this was a movie that none of us had previously seen, so it was a lot of fun to finally experience it.  The storyline matches very closely to another 1987 vampire movie (that we might also talk about during this episode, in fact!) but it's done in a very different way.  It's much more mean spirited and probably more real as a result, but will it draw you in and scare you? For our mini review theme we answered the question 'What horror movie would you recommend for or watch with someone who is not a horror fan?'  We ended up with some wildly different ideas that were each solid options.  Jason went the hunky vampire with a dose of humour route and talked about The Lost Boys, one of the first horror movies he ever saw.  Dave professed his love for Little Shop of Horrors and the singing talents of Rick Moranis and Steve Martin.  And Geoff rolled the dice on a movie he hadn't seen yet, the Oscar buzzed and critically acclaimed Get Out, from Jordan Peele.  Let us know what movies you would recommend! And finally, don't forget to tune in after the show for the very non-horror-related Top 5 list of our favorite 1980's and 1990's Sitcoms! (0:10:03) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS (1986) (0:23:59) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE LOST BOYS (1987) (0:34:01) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - GET OUT (2017) (0:42:55) Feature Review - NEAR DARK (1987) (1:23:17) TOP 5 1980's and 1990's SITCOMS We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
043: The Prowler (1981) and Super-Disturbing True Crime!
Jan 17 2023
043: The Prowler (1981) and Super-Disturbing True Crime!
The Prowler, directed by Joseph Zito of Friday the 13th - The Final Chapter fame, was released during the upswing of slasher movies in the early 80s.  There is a sizeable cult following for this one, mainly because it's got Tom Savini at the helm of some truly impressive carnage.  But would this movie have faded into obscurity if we weren't still talking about those pitchfork and bayonet scenes?  Did we join the cult, so to speak?  Tune in to find out! Based on some helpful theme suggestions from Jason the Terrible, Graverobber decided to pick "movies based on true events" for our mini-reviews.  And he immediately regretted it!  As horror fans, some of us prefer to deal with the horrors of real life without actually having to deal with the horrors of real life.  In our case, we typically like our horror 'not real', so this one was a bit tough to enjoy because of the subject matter.  Ironically, we all ended up with movies set in Australia of all places, as Jason attempted to solve a decades-old murder, Geoff chronicled a couple's abduction habits, and Dave revealed the point at which vigilantism becomes insane mania.  Fun times! (0:11:11) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE PYJAMA GIRL CASE (1977) (0:18:59) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - THE SNOWTOWN MURDERS (2011) (0:28:05) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - HOUNDS OF LOVE (2016) (0:36:56) Feature Review - THE PROWLER (1981) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
042: Midsommar (2019) and Writer/Director Horror
Jan 3 2023
042: Midsommar (2019) and Writer/Director Horror
Whether you're down with the term "Elevated Horror" or not, you have to admit that Midsommar is a striking film.  Ari Aster's film certainly tries to be as disturbing as possible while simultaneously choreographing exactly how events will unfold.  Seeing this film as a huge metaphor for escaping a toxic gaslighting relationship and rediscovering family adds some layers to the visceral and graphic daylight horror.  It's certainly worth seeing, but will it entice us to watch the three hour director's cut?  Our mini review theme focuses on other movies that were directed by the writer (or written by the director), including a one-way trip to Nilbog for Graverobber Geoff in Troll 2, a magic edition of the Scream-Sack with Clive Barker's Lord of Illusions, and a surprisingly effective performance by "Empty Space" in a supporting roll in The Invisible Man by the prolific Leigh Whannell. Don't forget to tune in after the show for the very non-horror-related Top 5 list of our favorite 1980's WWF Wrestlers! (0:08:19) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - TROLL 2 (1990) (0:23:26) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - LORD OF ILLUSIONS (1995) (0:31:52) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE INVISIBLE MAN (2020) (0:43:50) Feature Review - MIDSOMMAR (2019) (1:22:57) TOP 5 1980's WWF WRESTLERS We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
041: A Nightmare on Elm Street Mini-Franchise Review feat. New Nightmare (1994)!
Dec 20 2022
041: A Nightmare on Elm Street Mini-Franchise Review feat. New Nightmare (1994)!
In our third mini-franchise review, we tackle A Nightmare on Elm Street, a series that has long been a favorite here at Watch Out Horror.  We put our fandom to the test as we focus on arguably the most criticized entries of the series.  You might be surprised just how enthusiastic of a defense at least one of these movies gets!  So join us for mini-reviews of Freddy's Revenge, The Dream Child, and Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare, and a deep dive into Wes Craven's New Nightmare.  On top of that, make sure you don't miss our countdown of the Top 5 Nightmare on Elm Street kills!  And whatever you do, don't fall asleep!   (0:07:08) TOP 5 NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET KILLS (0:31:16) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET 2: FREDDY'S REVENGE (1985) (0:41:06) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET 5: THE DREAM CHILD (1989) (0:48:08) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - FREDDY'S DEAD: THE FINAL NIGHTMARE (1991) (0:59:59) Feature Review - WES CRAVEN'S NEW NIGHTMARE (1994) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
040: The Amityville Horror (1979) - The Book vs. The Movie!
Dec 6 2022
040: The Amityville Horror (1979) - The Book vs. The Movie!
Inspired while reading The Amityville Horror on the beaches of Varadero in Cuba, Jason the Terrible delivers a solo-cast exploring the fascinating "true" story of the Lutz's and their turbulent 28 day stay at 112 Ocean Avenue.   How does the movie, starring James Brolin and Margot Kidder, differ from the original book?  What subtle and significant changes in theme were introduced?  We know the book was written to sell books, and the movie was made to sell tickets, so how can we expect the real story to survive? Does Jason think this is all a hoax, or is he a believer? We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: 1, 2 Freddy's Coming For You! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
039: Barbarian (2022), Massacre Movies and Our Top 5 Video Games!
Nov 22 2022
039: Barbarian (2022), Massacre Movies and Our Top 5 Video Games!
Barbarian!  It's no surprise that Zach Cregger's tense and scary film has been dividing audiences.  The first two acts are extremely effective and enjoyable, but then comes an ending that some people just can't get past.  As always, we're spoiler-free, so follow us down to the basement as we try to shed some light on whether this movie is worth your time regardless.   In our mini reviews, we check out movies with the word "Massacre" in the title.  No Texas Chainsaws or Slumber Party's allowed though!  Jason goes back to school to experience the dream-like Sorority House Massacre!  Dave follows Robert Englund to a pretty twisted theme park for a Funhouse Massacre!  And Geoff discovers.... Dude Bro Party Massacre 3! But before all of that, we get into a new segment: our Top 5 List!  This episode we count down our favorite video games of all time, and plenty of them are horror related.  If you'd like to see this segment become a regular thing, let us know! (0:04:58) Our Top 5 Favourite Video Games (0:22:22) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - FUNHOUSE MASSACRE (2015) (0:30:56) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - DUDE BRO PARTY MASSACRE III (2015) (0:38:54) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - SORORITY HOUSE MASSACRE (1986) (0:46:10) Feature Review - BARBARIAN (2022) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: 1, 2 Freddy's Coming For You! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
038: Friday the 13th Mini-Franchise Review featuring The Final Chapter (1984)
Nov 8 2022
038: Friday the 13th Mini-Franchise Review featuring The Final Chapter (1984)
Friday the 13th has always had a special place in our hearts, so we had a lot of fun returning to Crystal Lake to bring you our latest mini-franchise review!   We feature the not-so-Final Chapter in all it's Tom Savini-splattery goodness.  Witness the debut of Tommy Jarvis, played by the always awesome Corey Feldman!  Dance along with Crispin Glover!  Be astounded by the amazing appearance of the twins!  And salute stunt performer extraordinaire, Ted White!    In our mini reviews, Jason the Terrible goes back to the Packanack Lodge for counselor training and witnesses Jason's sack-mask trail of terror in Friday the 13th Part 2.  Graverobber Geoff recounts Tommy Jarvis' ill-fated and ill-advised gravedigging excursion in Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives, and Slicin' Dicin' Dave explores the mental gymnastics of Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood.  We love any excuse to revisit a Friday the 13th film, let alone four of them, so strap on your masks, grab a large gardening implement, and enjoy! (0:10:31) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - FRIDAY THE 13TH PART 2 (1981) (0:26:59) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - FRIDAY THE 13TH PART VI: JASON LIVES (1986) (0:37:08) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - FRIDAY THE 13TH PART VII: THE NEW BLOOD (1988) (0:53:24) Feature Review - FRIDAY THE 13TH: THE FINAL CHAPTER (1984) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: Fincher above and Raimi below! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
037: Halloween Mini-Franchise Review feat. Halloween H20 (1998)
Oct 25 2022
037: Halloween Mini-Franchise Review feat. Halloween H20 (1998)
This year we celebrate Halloween with a mini Halloween franchise review!  In this episode we feature Halloween H20, Jamie Lee Curtis' love letter to the Halloween fans that helped launch her career.  She signed on to the film to explore explore Laurie Strode's life 20 years after that fateful Halloween night, and she wanted Laurie to experience some closure.  Though it may not have turned out exactly as originally planned, we all ended up with a pretty enjoyable movie, even taking into account the healthy dose of studio interference, four different Michael masks, and a Dawson's Creek-esque sub-plot. In our mini reviews, when tasked with picking Halloween-themed movies, we all picked movies from the Halloween franchise, and thus the mini-franchise review was born!  Jason takes us all the way back to explore "More of the night he came home" in Halloween 2, Geoff checks out Rob Zombie's Halloween, and Dave catches up with Halloween Kills.  We managed to touch on most of the major timelines in this often confusing franchise, and even though we didn't get to them all, we still had a great time discussing all the different takes on these iconic characters.   (0:15:35) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - HALLOWEEN 2 (1981) (0:24:49) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - Rob Zombie's HALLOWEEN (2007) (0:35:22) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - HALLOWEEN KILLS (2021) (0:41:01) Feature Review - HALLOWEEN H20 (1998) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: ’Tis the unlucky season! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
036: X (2022) and Hard Rock Horror!
Oct 11 2022
036: X (2022) and Hard Rock Horror!
Director Ti West brings us a unique take on the perils of making an adult film in late-70’s Texas.  Featuring a talented cast led by a very busy Mia Goth, X tells the story of a group of aspiring filmmakers that run afoul of an elderly couple who don’t react well when they find out that their property is the principal filming location.  Dripping with subtext, X should satisfy those who love the standard slasher tropes but want to go a level or two deeper. In our mini reviews we explore the connections between loud music and scary movies by featuring a trio of rockin’ horror flicks that may or may not rock.  We learn that heavy metal CAN be a bad influence on teens, that lyrics about killing people from beyond the grave should probably be taken seriously, and that you should be very careful about what gigs you take, even if you’re desperate.   (0:07:12) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - BLACK ROSES (1988) (0:17:29) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - ROCKTOBER BLOOD (1984) (0:28:35) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - GREEN ROOM (2015) (0:38:07) Feature Review - X (2022) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: ’Tis the spooky season! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
035: Willy's Wonderland (2021) and Occult (or is it 'A Cult'?) Movies
Sep 27 2022
035: Willy's Wonderland (2021) and Occult (or is it 'A Cult'?) Movies
Only Nicolas Cage could take a movie about cleaning bathrooms and kicking animatronic ass and make it work, all without uttering a single word!  We lock ourselves in to review Kevin Lewis' Willy's Wonderland.  If you jump on board with the premise and surrender Willy-ingly, you're going to have a good time! In our mini-reviews, Jason picked the Occult theme so that he could watch a movie he really should have seen by now.  Dave wondered whether a movie about a cult qualified as an Occult movie, and Geoff relates to the horrors of a peanut allergy.  Join us as we explore tug-of-wars with the sky, beer brewing death cults, classic gaslighting and horror-ified family drama! (0:06:18) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - THE ENDLESS (2017) (0:14:53) Graverobber Geoff's Fresh Dig - HEREDITARY (2018) (0:27:56) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - ROSEMARY'S BABY (1968) (0:38:16) Feature Review - WILLY'S WONDERLAND (2021) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: X Marks the Spot! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS
From The VAULT Episode 2: Uncle Peckerhead (2020)!
Aug 30 2022
From The VAULT Episode 2: Uncle Peckerhead (2020)!
How far would YOU go to realize your dreams?  Would you lie, cheat and/or steal?  Would you befriend a loyal were-demon who destroys your enemies?  Obviously!  Join us for this second VAULT episode as we live vicariously through a real splatter-punk band and hang out with Uncle Peckerhead! In our mini-reviews, Jason the Terrible relives childhood trauma by revisiting The Hitcher!  And Slicin' Dicin' Dave tries to decide whether to recommend the erotic adventures of The Velvet Vampire! A quick note about the sound quality: These early episodes do suffer at times from background noise and mic volume issues, and so may not be up to our usual standards of quality, but we guarantee that this won't affect the total entertainment value! (0:03:25) Slicin' Dicin' Dave's Streaming Scream-Sack of Nightmares - THE VELVET VAMPIRE (1971) (0:11:50) Jason the Terrible's DVD Dungeon - THE HITCHER (1986) (0:23:04) Feature Review - UNCLE PECKERHEAD (2020) We hope that you enjoy this episode!  Please SUBSCRIBE and give us a RATING on Apple Podcasts, or wherever you may be listening.  And don't forget to tell your friends! Get in touch with us!  We definitely want to hear your feedback and suggestions, and we'll give you a shout-out on an upcoming episode! Our official website! www.watchouthorror.com All our links at https://linktr.ee/watchouthorror Listen to us on GoodPods!  https://goodpods.app.link/QEqbOUWHFkb Email us at watchouthorror@gmail.com Follow us on Twitter!  @watchouthorror Follow us on Instagram!   @watchouthorrorcast Follow Slicin' Dicin' Dave on Twitter!  @slicindicindave Hey, we made the list of the Top 80 Horror Movie Podcasts!  Check out the list here: https://blog.feedspot.com/horror_movie_podcasts/ NEXT EPISODE: We've closed the VAULT!  We've opened the WONDERLAND! 2022 WATCH OUT! HORROR MOVIE REVIEWS